Congratulations to our recent WATCH nominees!



Nina-Sophia Pacheco/Lexi Hadad as “Eva Peron” from Evita – nominated for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Sam Stenecker for Evita – nominated for Outstanding Hair Design in a Musical

Kevin Diana for Evita – nominated for Outstanding Music Direction



Kevin Diana as “Sweeney Todd” – nominated for Outstanding lead actor in a musical




Congratulations to our 2015-2016 Season Award Winners!  We appreciate your important contributions on and off the stage.


Presenting the President’s Achievement Award Winners for exemplary service.

  • Heidi Keller and Alexis Truitt (Producers, Sweeney Todd)


Presenting the We Just Can’t Keep Them Away Winners who participated in 2 or more 2015-2016 shows with the St. Mark’s Players.

3 Times a Charm:

  • Ernesto Molina (Actor and Tech Team)

Double or Nothing:

  • Anu Torgal (Producer and House Manager)
  • Marshall Bradshaw (Actor and Producer)
  • Heather Danskin (Actor and Stage Manager)
  • Seth Rose (Tech Team and Director)
  • Daniel Hubbell (Tech Team and Actor)
  • Malinda Nafziger (Stage Manager)
  • John Henderson (Actor)
  • Ceci Alberts (Costuming)
  • Lisa Brownsword (Costuming)
  • Genie Lomize (Box Office)



The St. Mark’s Players give or participate in the following awards:

President’s Achievement Award
This  is our most prestigious award.  The President’s Achievement Award is to Acknowledge Exemplary Service.

Board of Director Awards
These awards, started in 2009, recognize those who’s service has gone above and beyond over the last season.

Coveted Ellie’s
These awards are our version of the “Tony’s”.  Named after our founder, Ellen Cardwell, these awards can be fun or serious.

The Rick Hayes Award for Artistic Achievement 
This award is given from time to time to mark excellence in an SMP production, whether as a performer, musician, or in a technical capacity. The award is a suitable memorial to the exceptionally talented Rick Hayes, and its inclusive nature reflects Rick’s versatility, who excelled as a Director, Actor, hair and make-up artist and light operator.

Robert Joyce Memorial Fund and Award for Dance
Robert Joyce was a very gifted choreographer, dancer and actor who was a treasured friend and member of the St. Mark’s Players. Each year we recognize an individual that embodies the spirt of Robert through their dance.  Robert felt that all of us can dance.

James Isaac Thomas Award
This award is given by Inez Lester, the daughter of James Isaac Thomas, to an individual that brings smiles, laughter and good cheer to the St. Mark’s Players.

WATCH – Washington Area Theater Community Honors
The Washington Area Theatre Community Honors (WATCH) is an organization founded for the adjudication
and presentation of annual awards recognizing artistic and technical excellence in community theatre
throughout the metropolitan Washington, D.C. area

NVTA – formerly Northern Virginia Theater Alliance 
NVTA was founded in 1980 to further communications, involvement and support among community theatres, as well as increasing community interest and awareness of theatre activity in the Northern Virginia and Metropolitan area.  We participated in their one act festival for several years.

Ruby Griffith Awards 
The British Players sponsor the Ruby Griffith Competition, with awards given for all‑around production excellence to amateur theatre groups in the area.